Safe Gluten Free Foods
Alcohol: All distilled alcohol is gluten free. Beer is not gluten free and you need to try gluten-free beers like those listed in our expanded resource area.
Dairy Products: Milk, half and half, cream, cream cheese, cottage cheese, eggs, butter, margarine, most cheese is gluten free except processed cheese blends, many yogurts (check with each manufacturer)
Desserts: Most ice cream, sherbet, sorbet, popsicles, whipped topping, and egg custards are gluten free. Also there are many gluten free dessert mixes now available, see our product listings for some brands.
Gluten-Free Flours and Grains: Almond, Amaranth, Bean, Buckwheat, Coconut, Cornmeal, Grits, Millet, Gluten-Free Oats, Potato, Quinoa, Rice, Sorghum, and Teff flours ( please note to be careful if flavoring agents or fillers are added, they may contain gluten).
(There are many gluten-free cereals, bars, breads, rolls, pastas, and muffins)
Meats and Poultry and Fish: All are gluten-free except those that are breaded or marinated or poultry that is self basting. There are many gluten-free marinades you can buy to marinate your own food.
Nuts and Oils: Almost all nuts and oils are gluten free unless the nuts are coated. Butter, margarine, and shortening is also gluten free.
Produce: Fresh Fruit and Vegetables are all gluten-free, frozen and canned are also usually gluten free unless additives or fillers or used. Dried fruits and fruit juices are also gluten free
Seasonings: Fresh and dried herbs, all whole spices, garlic and onion powder. When there is a blend that just says seasonings it can contain a gluten containing filler and should be checked.
Sauces, Dressings, and Marinades: While there are many gluten-free choices here if they are not homemade all pre purchased items need to be checked.
Soy and Beans: Beans are gluten free also most soy products are gluten free except those containing barley malt, or fillers.
Vinegars: All vinegars are gluten free except malt vinegars and those made with barley like rice vinegar.
Sweeteners: Almost all sweeteners are gluten-free unless they are mixed with a filler for a coating.
↓ Choose another topic from the Gluten Facts Menu ↓